A Place For The Future Past


Mobile Homes Suck
April 27, 2006, 5:08 pm
Filed under: Fun on the Road

JoAnne here.

My apologies to those who are advocates of mobile homes.

But when I was putting forth my wish list of homes on properties, there was one stipulation that was non-negotiable. NO MOBILE HOMES.

Yes for some they are wonderful, to plunk down on a parcel of land, for living out of while the REAL home gets built. But afterwards, they become a liability as they decay. Because mobile homes do NOT appreciate in value, they DEpreciate, they become literally more trouble than they are worth to maintain. So, when an agent sent me a MLS of a place, I always scroll down to see what kind of home it there. If it says “mobile home” I don’t bother to read any more about that place.

Today, another cheap water pipe blew. Cheap plastic pipe, used throughout this mobile home in which I live now, have lived in for nearly twenty years. With that pipe went today’s schedule —-KABLOOEY. When Mom was not here, I could race out to the shut-off valve at the street, twist it closed, and leave it until I could deal with, later. But with Mom here, it becomes a high priority to fix it immediately. SIGH

I first became aware of a smell of fresh water. Yes, smell. After poking around a bit, I discovered a tiny dribble, coming away from (naturally!) a hot water pipe, located right off of the hot water heater. Just a dribble? It could be postponed. I very lightly ran my fingertips over the spot, then went to Mom to report that we had a situation developing. As I was gently explaining (Mom tried to assure me that no fear, I could use her bathroom instead. SIGH. No, Mom, I have to shut off the water to the WHOLE house) I could hear that pipe blow. Suddenly I was racing to the toolbox, grabbing a crescent wrench, then out to the madly spinning meter. A quick twist and our water was shut off.

I KNEW I was on borrowed time with these cheap crappy plastic pipes, and it was part of the plan that once we got moved out of here, I’d have to shut the water off and replace the pipes pretty much through the back part of the house (both bathrooms) before selling this place. But with the new property deal dragging endlessly onward, I was becoming more and more fearful that sooner or later I would throw those mobile home dice and crap out.

I think there should be a board game called Home Sweet Home, where a throw of the dice dictates how many trips to the home improvement store a project or crisis will command.

SIGH

Off I go, to get plumbing supplies…..


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i think that there is an increase in the plubming supplies this month _

Comment by RFID Reader :

I think everything said was very logical. However, what about this?
what if you added a little content? I am not suggesting
your content isn’t good., however suppose you added a title that grabbed folk’s
attention? I mean Mobile Homes Suck | A Place For The
Future Past is kinda vanilla. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create post headlines to grab viewers to open the links. You might add a video or a related pic or two to get people interested about everything’ve got to say.
Just my opinion, it could make your blog a little livelier.

Comment by http://www.amigofever.com/

I’ve been thinking of buying a mobile home to cut expenses as my job was recently outsourced and I have a family of 5. What if you just re-plumbed the whole thing with pex? Would that be cost prohibitive as a solution? I’m really hoping I can make it work… I don’t see a lot of other options.

Comment by Jeremy




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

