A Place For The Future Past


Putting things together…
June 11, 2006, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Community On The Earth

….bit by bit. I haven't written anything for awhile (obviously), Life has been flowing a fast stream of stuff at me as I continue to keep all balls juggling.

Baby goats are doing great. Pictures will come as soon as I get fresh batteries. Lulu's babies (Luther and Luci) and Lady's baby Lana (can you sense a trend here?) all strong and healthy, and both moms tend all babies. Initially matriarch Lady had claimed all babies, which made Lulu easy to become reaccustomed to milking, but Lulu persevered in creeping into the nursery whenever possible. Now her presense is tolerated. Both moms get milked twice daily and are producing well enough for me. I'm already overflowing with goat milk and goat cheese. Yesterday I had a small omelet filled with savory herb goat cheese and a garden sinach salad with more crumbled on top.

Emilie's pheasant project is going well. I helped get her set up — she has a small wading pool lined with newspaper, complete with a heat lamp and several waterers and feeders, and pinned up shhets for draft proctection. Two days after they decided they would need to erect chicken wire around the outside too. The supplier and all books we have read warn about the high mortality rate of pheasant chicks, so we have steeled ourselves not to get too attached to the outcome of this initial project. The suppliers even throw in extra chicks to make up for those lost in shipping, we ordered 30 chicks and 31 came packed like sardines in a corner of a cardboard box (with the labels that screamed LIVE ANIMALS, DELIVER IMMEDIATELY you can imagine the concerned attention it got at the local post office). Well, almost two weeks old, there are still 31 chicks. All thriving. So far so good there 😉

Meanwhile, a local metal/leather craftsperson friend has asked if there couldn't be a way that he might get space for a metal shop at the Folktalk Project, which I felt we could. This will be a major boost to Emilie's husband Red, who has a keen interest with building armor and has put together some beginning pieces, but is handicapped by a lack of proper tools, equipment and instruction. Fertile ground that might well produce well, with the right master teacher.

And, the neighbor/buyer and I have been busy prepping my mobile for inspection. A daunting task, but with their help more progress is being made.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Whenever things are going weird up here, I dip into this blog for a breath of fresh air. I wish I were there helping to milk goats and build pheasant crates and beehives. I’ve been playing journalist for the local paper, and I’m hungry for some of My People — creative crazy types. I didn’t know how much I’d miss my Tribe.

Comment by wolffood




Leave a Reply

